Should I break-up with my job?

14 Nov

God I hate my job. I’ve been there six months now and I’m still not really sure what it is they hired me to do. Something to do with attending lots of meetings and putting together lengthy proposals for business development which are subsequently rejected if they require any sort of monetary investment. The actual job I applied for must have been a work of fiction because it is NOTHING like I expected. Even worse, my boss thinks it’s perfectly reasonable to call me ‘flower’. And yesterday, when I asked him where I could find the projector for a presentation I had to give, he stood up and rolled his eyes and told me to “follow Uncle Will”, which is not only massively fucking condescending but also creepy and weird. But hey, nothing like a bit of nonchalant office sexism to make you feel valued at work!

I know it doesn’t look great to a new employer if I look for a new job so soon but what else can I do when, day by day, I can feel my creative brain cells dying a slow and painful death. Yes I have a lot of responsibility, but no actual authority to change the way things really work. It’s a media organisation ffs, and people are still talking about Twitter like it’s something that’s been beamed down from outer space. The money is good but that’s about the only thing I really like about my job, which seems pretty shallow. Is it unrealistic to expect to actually enjoy going to work, at least sometimes? Or to feel fulfilled by what you do? I think finding the right job is a bit like finding the right man. When you find one that’s a good fit you feel happy and inspired, but sometimes – despite your best efforts – you have to admit you’re just not on the same wavelength. I just don’t want my CV to make me look like a slag.

Ps. Thanks to those blogs that have nominated me for the Liebster Blog Award, I promise to get round to doing a post on this next week!

One Response to “Should I break-up with my job?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This blog is back | Fish Seeks Bicycle - September 28, 2013

    […] I quit my horrible job, and am now freelance. It’s only been two months, but things are picking up. And I’m a […]

Leave a comment